Baffled by Life

Welcome to Baffled by Life, a blog exploring the perplexities of everyday situations. If it's your first time here let's get to know each other by utilizing the common formality of introducing ourselves.

It’s not me, it’s the environment and everything else.

Psychologists are torn and say that we as individuals are shaped by our genes and our environment, almost 50/50, give or take a little. When I discovered this during my undergrad I was relieved, nothing was my fault! How could it be? The me, the authentic me a.k.a. my soul was like an untouched virgin, innocent and pure, only to be tainted by the genes I was given and confined by the environment I had no choice in entering. I didn’t choose my place of birth, my parents, or the kind of diaper I was going to wear and I sure didn’t choose my temperament. No one asked me whether or not I wanted to be on this earth so why am I here?

I really never much cared for being here, it’s like being dragged to a party you don’t want to go to. I’m here at this party, not really wanting to be here so I’m treated accordingly. I don’t say hi to people, I don’t make conversation, I don’t dance, as a result I’m in the corner, isolated. After a while I realize it’s dumb and that I’m here already so I might as well mingle, but by that time people have formed their circles and found their dance partners. This is where I am in life now. I’m finally waking up to the fact that even though I didn’t choose to be here and I don’t have a religious or philosophical answer to explain my existence I’m here so what do I do? I’m not sure. I don’t feel part of the party and I’m quite the pessimist, quicker then Kim Kardashian can file for divorce I can find the negative in any situation. That’s why I’m so baffled by life I don’t know what or how to live it in a way that’s meaningful and that will bring contentment. I hope I’ll come across the right party I’ll belong in or at least an after party.

Do you wait for the party or make your own party?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 20, 2011 by .
